Colonne VF

Colonne de Juillet, place de la Bastille

Discover a monument commemorating the defence of civil liberties by the citizenry.

Monument closed due to works

The lower parts of the monument will be open in 2018! 

History of the monument

In 1830, the "Trois Glorieuses", the Three Glorious Days or the July Revolution, brought Louis-Philippe to power. To pay tribute to the victims and their struggle, he ordered the construction of a triumphal column topped with the Génie de la Liberté (Spirit of Freedom). Two architects worked on this monument: Alavoine and then Duc.

Built on the site of the Bastille prison, the July Column was inaugurated in 1840. During the ceremony, the Grand Funeral and Triumphal Symphony by Hector Berlioz, conducted by the composer, was performed as the bodies of the revolutionaries arrived in their funereal carriage for burial in the monument.

After the 1848 Revolution, the throne of Louis-Philippe was burned at the foot of the column and the remains of the rioters were interred in the vaults of the monument. Following the fall of Napoleon III in 1871, during the Paris Commune, the monument barely escaped destruction.

Classed as a historical monument in 1995, an important relic of the 19th century due to its history and architecture, the column will open to visitors in 2018.

The Colonne de Juillet (July Column) is a monument managed by the Centre des monuments nationaux

Social network

Discover

Colonne de Juillet, place de la Bastille

Colonne de Juillet, place de la Bastille

Découvrez un monument commémorant la défense des libertés publiques par les citoyens.

Monument fermé au public

Connaître le monument

En 1830, la Révolution des Trois Glorieuses porte au pouvoir Louis-Philippe. Pour rendre hommage aux victimes et à leur combat, il ordonne la construction d’une colonne triomphale surmontée du Génie de la Liberté. Deux architectes travaillent à cette réalisation : Alavoine puis Duc.

Bâtie à l’emplacement de la prison de la Bastille, la colonne de Juillet est inaugurée en 1840. Lors de cette cérémonie, la Symphonie funèbre et triomphale d’Hector Berlioz, dirigeant l’orchestre, accompagne l’arrivée des corps des révolutionnaires en char mortuaire, avant leur inhumation dans le monument.

Après la Révolution de 1848, le trône de Louis-Philippe est brûlé au pied de la colonne et les dépouilles des émeutiers déposées dans le second caveau du monument. A la chute de Napoléon III, en 1871, durant la Commune, le monument échappe de peu à la destruction.

Classée monument historique en 1995, témoin du XIXe siècle, par son histoire et son architecture, la colonne ouvrira à la visite en 2018.

La colonne de Juillet est un monument géré par le Centre des monuments nationaux

À noter avant votre visite

Afin d’assurer la sécurité des visiteurs, le monument applique les mesures préventives décidées par le gouvernement pour les administrations publiques. Le monument est ouvert dans les conditions habituelles.

En savoir plus

Découvrir aussi